It all started with a friend giving me information about an adventure club organising various treks this monsoon. At that very instant when I was talking with him about treks, I could already imagine the beauty of mountains and the urge of going for the trek started developing.

The fact is, I had never been to a trek before, but I always wanted to. I always feel there is something between me and the mountains and now the mountains are calling and I must go.

So I asked a bunch of friends and then we had a plan which included almost 15 people for the trek. None the less as always happens only 7 people finally went for trek, others disappeared by giving some stupid silly excuses. But, who cares, At the end, Life is all about people who are with you in the moment and that’s what matters.

So, now all seven of us were all set to have an awesome journey to a beautiful destination, a trek near panvel.

Now I had with me a group of friends with all sets of combinations possible.. Here I introduce you to them…

Flora, a girl who we always thought was an introvert one but who came out to be a totally surprise to us by all her mischievous comments during the trek.

Shreeyesh, the only guy in the group with an actual experience of being on several treks from easy to difficult level and have to managed to reach the highest peak of Maharashtra (P.S – This was his second trek in same week)

Omkar, the person who gets emotional in every small things and out GUIDE for the trek (P.S – he didn’t know anything about the trek and was forcefully made the guide just to blame him for everything that goes wrong during the trek :p )

Chinmay, the one who have been to the same trek two times 6 years ago (Our mentor for the trek)

Amol,  the one who kept us going by all the sarcasm that he have within him.

Aniket, the calm guy amongst us who was more concerned about taking the selfie with awesome views throughout the trek (P.S – he had lost his I-phone  2 days before the trek and this trek was somehow for him to get over this tragedy :p)

Reaching the trekking destination as planned (itinerary prepared by chinmay), we started our trek on time.. after around 30 minutes, I realised I was already tired (This made me realise that its high time to start working out). No matter what, I had to complete the trek..  the trekking was on..  with low stamina the other hurdle that I had to overcome was stupid silly jokes of my friends that made me laugh so much that at some instances I was actually running out of the breath.. But slowly and slowly.. thanks to the motivation from my team mates, we all managed to reach the top..

The view was magnificently breathtaking, with the high intensity blowing winds, fog around… All of us actually lied down on the grass, looking at the limitless sky, cold breeze, voice of nature all around and company of super cool people… what more can I ask for.. Everything was beyond perfect..

Enjoying that beyond perfect moment, we started our way back to the point from where we had started.. but now the starting point would never be the same because we had with us basket full of memories to cherish.

While returning from the trek, the route had become slippery because of the rains that drizzled in when we were at the top..  As I was walking I realised that there is something wrong with my shoes.. It tend to slip at every step. Not being much into sports things, I had with me the shoes that I had purchased few years back and I realised it was too old and the sole had lost its soul, the grip. This came as a real nightmare to me, because every step I would keep forward I felt I would slip.

This fear of slipping and falling down just got into my mind and completing the trek became an altogether different challenge for me.. But then as I already mentioned before, I had some supercool people with me and I knew they had a way out for me from this mess.. and they did it all very well…

Aniket and Flora lead us the way.. Amol and Omkar became my guide giving me minute details as where should I keep my next step.. Shreeyesh was there as constant source of motivation throughout.. and Chinmay very calmly supervised entire situation.. (This is what a mentor does 🙂 )

In this way, our way down from mountains became an entirely new challenge for all of us because of my stupid silly shoes. The shoes by which it felt like I would slip even if I walk on a flat slippery path, I managed to descend entire trek with it and because of my team mates.

So, this trek along with the awesome experience of mountains.. brought with it some positive life learning too.. It taught me to keep faith in yourself and in the people who are with you.. To have confidence in yourself no matter how much difficult things seems.. To trust yourself, your people and your destiny and most important thing is fear is just in your mind and you can easily overcome it.

At the end, it was all about living in the moment, with the best people, making some best memories and overcoming the worst fear 🙂